Exercise: What reason have they to dance? (by Andy)

Standard

‘you look like you want to dance’
‘come on
dance with me’

yes, of course I do
that’s why I’m standing by the door
the furthest possible point
from the dance floor
I say
but to myself
in my head
because I’m drinking
and my eyes seem too busy
long legs
attached to
a beautifully shaped arse
the type that
whenever she walks by
the sight alone
makes men cry
and all of that wrapped
in a tight black dress
in spite of my eyes
short of leaving my eye sockets
and pushing me
to follow her
to bed
through whatever it takes
I shout
‘I’m okay’
I shout because talking
is not allowed
‘Oh come on’
she persists
lonely?
or maybe just drunk?
either works

‘Fuck it’
She smiles at that
grabs my hand
pulls me closer to her
and into the crowd
No idea what I’m doing
not that it matters much
everyone is acting
like they are visiting someplace else
and their bodies remained here
my body starts to respond to the music
I no longer fight the urge
I give in and watch her dance too
she’s feeling it
whatever it is
but I’d rather feel her

it’s just the two of us
like nothing around us matters
we could be in a parking lot
or in the museum somewhere
it’d probably feel the same
I want to pray
fall to my knees and ask for more
but I concede
and carry on
enjoying the moment
before it’s time to let her go

Leave a comment